Spring Has Sprung

Or has it? I just don’t know.

20130324-153047.jpg

Last Wednesday we had some friends over, and Ian grilled hamburgers and hot dogs. It was nice and sunny.

Today I sit here typing on Lappy, surrounded by three balls of cat keeping their noses warm with their tails, my feet stuffed in my fuzzy boots to keep them toasty.

Ian and Abby planted two weeks ago. Ian has tons of new stuff, including a cactus and a rose bush he got from a customer. Abby has her Scooby Doo bucket that she dumped half a box of wildflower seeds in. They had fun, and they both have tons of sprouting.

20130324-160241.jpg20130324-160249.jpg20130324-160301.jpg

Wednesday Ian cut the grass for the first time this year. It was odd to see him after he finished with his shirt the same color, not drenched in sweat. But the yard looks great.

We’d only planned on having his brother and one other friend over, but his brother had company at his house when we called, so they came over as well. This was the first time we’d had more than two people here with Abby–heck, the first time we’ve had more than three in years. Guess who decided to be shy? Ian eventually talked her into giving out high-fives, but she didn’t really warm up to the new guy, although Bruce curled up in his lap like he’d known him since birth. Traitorous cat!

This week we’re going to see the Easter Bunny, and send out a nice packet of photos to my brother, whose sixteenth birthday is tomorrow. We love you, bro! My best friend’s daughter’s birthday is the next day–twelve years old. How time flies!

Last night I attempted to sew a pair of slippers for myself. I only assembled one. It was a dismal failure. I don’t think I even learned anything new from that experiment, other than don’t sew slippers.

20130324-152742.jpg

Today, however, I found a new tip on ruffling: increase tension instead of decreasing, and the fabric will ruffle itself! I’ve been having a heck of a time with Catching Our Rainbow’s March crafting challenge until I found that little tidbit. It is hard to pull threads to ruffle four four foot fabric strips. I spent probably half an hour to finish one by hand, and five minutes to do the other three with high tension. Sheesh!

20130324-152735.jpg

Let’s see, Abby and I made bacon salt and paprika crackers Tuesday night. We’ll definitely do that again! We both had a blast.

20130324-152751.jpg

Last night I made a beer bread with an Abita Strawberry something-or-other beer. I liked it, but Ian’s not a big fan. I guess I’ll be finding something to do with leftover beer bread this week.

And I almost forgot about the raccoon!!

20130324-153139.jpg

Ian caught four raccoon raiding our trash Wednesday night. He held the cats up to the window to see. Bruce and Amarillo didn’t care, but Kitten was growling and ready to fight. I don’t think she could take four raccoon, though.

Don’t forget about my giveaway!


11 Comments on “Spring Has Sprung”

  1. I can not wait until we can plant – or at least stop shoveling snow 🙂

  2. Rain says:

    We haven’t even started our garden yet. Typically we wait until the 2nd or 3rd week in April to make sure we’re clear of the frosts. But, with the weather staying in the 60s and 70s all week, this year we might start early.

    Guests with a child can be hard. I’m still not brave enough to host one of our dinner parties just yet.

    Ruffles! I can only do straight stitches on my machine (of course, it’s from 1920).

    How do you make bacon salt crackers? I’ve never heard of that!

    • April says:

      The ruffles are with a straight stitch! And it’s just a plain ole cracker dough that we sprinkled bacon salt and paprika on, nothing fancy.

  3. Kate says:

    Love it all! Bacon crackers?? Sounds amazing. I may have a digital pattern for slippers somewhere. I’ll see if I can find it and send it along. 🙂

  4. Stasy says:

    This spring is such a mess here, too! Two weeks ago, I was running around in skirts and tank tops because it was in the 70s and now (while not super cold) I need long pants and jackets. I want real spring, damn it!

  5. 35life says:

    Wow! You’ve been keeping busy! I can’t wait for nicer weather and to start planting again. It makes me happy when things are otherwise tough.

  6. […] and I call it the ‘dead clown’ fabric. You may remember having a peek of it in the slipper fail from a couple weeks ago. Yes, the only thing I have imagined to do with the dead clowns is rub my […]


Leave a comment