At Least I’ll Always Have the Cats

There’s so much crap going on right now that I’m just not willing to face in hardcore black and white.

So I will feel free to come back to my safe place here and pretend none of it is happening.

I don’t have to worry about my little brother going to juvie for the next four years, and grown-up jail after that.

20111021-111224.jpgThis is how we know winter is coming. At any given time, there are one to three cats curled up in balls, covering their noses to keep them warm.

I don’t have to worry about my in-laws and any inconsiderate or insensitive choices they may make.

20111021-111234.jpgThe computer chair sits right next to the heater vent, so no need for nose-covering.

And I don’t have to worry about baby mama drama, because it will happen whether I worry or not.

20111021-111243.jpgIf you’re cold, why pick the middle of the floor to curl up in? Oh yeah, because the love seat and computer chair were taken.

And I don’t have to worry about the state of my uterus. Because that won’t change anything either.

20111021-114055.jpgSo I made some awesome Honey Beer Bread. And I’m eating it on the Christmassy plates said youngest brother gave me when he was seven.


19 Comments on “At Least I’ll Always Have the Cats”

  1. Megan says:

    Your cats are adorable. My kitties do the same thing when they’re cold! I am definitely going to check out your honey beer bread recipe! That sounds yummy!

  2. Belle says:

    It sounds like life is terribly heavy for you right now. I’m sending you good thoughts and am only an email away should you need anything. Also, cats are the best. As is homemade bread 🙂

  3. Alexandra says:

    I hope it all will be good for you soon. The cats are gorgeous!

  4. tigger62077 says:

    Brothers doing things they shouldn’t and ending up in places they shouldn’t (or should? for their own good) is never easy. My own brother has spent the majority of my life in jail or prison. You need someone to lean on, message me. I am definitely empathize.

    In-laws are…in-laws, except when they are out-laws. I’m sorry they are being so insensitive and inconsiderate right now, and I sincerely hope they pull their heads out of their asses and smell the wonderful honey beer bread. 😀

    *hugs* It gets hard, it will get easier, and you have people to lean on. And fabulous kitties to keep you company.

  5. Mo says:

    I’m so sorry you’re going through all of this stuff.
    Fur babies are the best, aren’t they? Ever since we kicked our little luna out of bed to try to get her to be less clingy, it’s been torture for me. Nothing like a good furry cuddle. 🙂

  6. gwen says:

    I was wondering why you’d gone so quiet.

    Sounds like your brother and mine have some things in common…it’s not easy being an older sister and watching them screw up.

    I hope you take more time to smile *squish*

  7. teri says:

    Oh…sweet lady…I’m sorry you’re having such a difficult time right now. Sending you big, wet, sloppy Internet hugs and kisses! (P.S. I do not know how a hug is wet and sloppy, but there it is.)

  8. Oh April, that’s rough! I’ll e-mail you back in a few, I’ve been struggling to keep up with correspondance lately and I feel like a jerk.

  9. […] night I made a beer bread with an Abita Strawberry something-or-other beer. I liked it, but Ian’s not a big fan. I […]


Leave a comment