Reminiscence

I went looking for a photo prompt at Morguefile and found this, which reminded me of something I did once.

bf69565c30828c07bbd18ea0c6700af6

I drove from New Orleans to Edmonton and back when I was twenty-one. It was a totes awesome trip.

I took three days to get there, including an afternoon stop in Baraboo, Wisconsin to meet a couple of internet friends. I was tickled pink when I stopped at a gas station in Baraboo and I finally got to hear a Wisconsin accent. I’m sure the clerk was just as tickled by my Cajun accent.

I drove across the US/Canadian border on a small highway from North Dakota. I didn’t have to wait in line or get out of my car or even have a passport.

I used the tiny inside dial on my speedometer that measures kilometers, and bought my gas by the liter.

I remember watching the glow in the sky grow larger and larger until finally I crested the last hill and I could see Edmonton, bigger and brighter than anywhere I’d ever been by myself. It was so much more than this photo.

And I have to think how much time I would actually spend going through the photos I took of my trip if I’d had a smart phone. It would be nice to have actual photographs of the people I met instead of sketches and faded memories. Photos of the places I saw and the adventures I had.

Then again, it’s pretty cool this way, too.

And I don’t really look at the pictures on my phone that often anyway.

2 Comments on “Reminiscence”

  1. susieshy45 says:

    April,
    That photo is amazing- are those the Niagra falls ?
    You must have been pretty adventurous when you were 21. Is it easier to get to Canada through ND ?
    Susie

    • April says:

      I don’t believe it’s Niagara, but I’m not sure since I haven’t seen the falls since I was a kid. It’s probably not easy to get to Canada from any US entry point now, and I don’t blame them.


Leave a Reply

