Five Years

I’m horrible with dates. I really am.Well, not important dates. I’m excellent at birthdays and anniversaries–real anniversaries, that is.

Remember in high school when couples celebrated their two-week anniversary and more gag-inducing scenarios like that? To this day, I still don’t understand how in the world they kept up with the dates. Granted, I didn’t have too many romantic entanglements in high school, but still.

Last Friday was the anniversary of the day my in-laws met, so a hard day for my father-in-law. But I don’t know how he remembers it. I only remember the day I met my husband because it was at his brother’s wedding. If we’d just met in passing I’d have not the first clue.

candle

Anyway, today turns out to be my five year anniversary with WordPress. Five years and 1,062 posts. This one’s 1,063. One completed-enough-to-publish novel. Three novel drafts. One memoir-in-progress. Thousands of words, maybe even a million words. That feels like something.

A million words.

But five years and July 17, those don’t feel like such big deals. I’ll forget the date in a few days, and it’ll sneak up on me again next year. When I’m sure I’ll be just as nonplussed.

I mean, I’ve caught hundreds of Pokemon and walked dozens of kilometers in the past ten days.

Anyway, happy five years to me. I’m more proud of the 418 post streak I’ve got going on right now. I’d have the anniversary whether or not I wrote every day.

But hey, thanks for sticking around. I appreciate that.

8 Comments on “Five Years”

  1. Happy Anniversary!! and Congrats on the streak!

  2. LRose says:

    Don’t forget your 3 TBP posts! You are a blogging bright star.

  3. abbiosbiston says:

    Happy belated blogiversary!

  4. […] imagine it will feel like reading the post from my five-year blogoversary earlier this evening, when I searched my archives for journal and five year while […]


Leave a Reply

