Desert Island Entertainment

What are your top two favorite books? That is, if you could only have two books, which would they be? And what about movies? Say, three of those. 

When I went on my farthest solo road trip, to Yellowknife, I brought two books, three movies, and a bunch of CDs. The books and CDs were all I had for the nearly week-long trip there, and the whole shebang was much of my entertainment for the month I stayed. I really need to write about that trip. 

The movies:

  1. Natural Born Killers
  2. Strange Days
  3. Twelve Monkeys

The books:

  1. Stranger Music by Leonard Cohen
  2. The Waste Land, and Other Poems by T. S. Eliot

I don’t remember all the CDs; some George Thorogood and the destroyers, some Led Zeppelin, some The Who, some Leonard Cohen, obviously. 

I think that would still be a fair shopping list. What would you bring?

2 Comments on “Desert Island Entertainment”

  1. abbiosbiston says:

    Music wise I think I would bring:
    Lucy Gray by Envy on the Coast
    The Queen is Dead by The Smiths
    The Suburbs by Arcade Fire

    Films:
    Everything is Illuminated
    10 Things I Hate About You
    Kill Bill 1&2

    Books:
    Watership Down by Richard Adams
    A Million Little Pieces by James Frey
    Jane Eyre by Charlottle Bronte


Leave a Reply

