Postcards from Adventure

You know that saying, “today is the first day of the rest of your life”?

Nobody ever thinks about that. I don’t. You know you don’t either.

Sure every once in a blue moon, something happens, some massive national tragedy, some major personal tragedy to you or to someone’s nephew’s brother’s cousin’s roommate. Something happens and you think about it, but it never lasts. The appreciation for every day wears off and you’re back to square one.

I’m not scolding. I’m just like you.

But my little sister wasn’t.

She was different. Today really was the first day of the rest of her life, every single day.

I talk about her like she’s gone, but I don’t really know. She got tired of the rest of her family never understanding how special today is, because we just didn’t. Just like you.

And she left.

I haven’t seen her in years, now. She used to send postcards, once a week, then once a month, then maybe once a year. We couldn’t write back to her, not that anyone wanted to, other than me. There was no telling where she was going to be.

She left to have adventures. I know she was having them while she still sent postcards, but now, I don’t know.

But I always like to think that she is. That she wakes up each and every morning with a smile on her face to greet the day, and with that burning curiosity to find out what this new day will bring.

I guess since that’s how I remember her, that’s how she still is.

Have fun, sis. I miss you.

file0001410145532

One Comment on “Postcards from Adventure”

  1. Rain says:

    Sending love to your sister, wherever she is! And lots to you too as well!


Leave a Reply

