No One Else Around

When I woke up this morning it was quiet. Too quiet. I’m a late riser, so by the time I wake up, my neighbors are all up and at ’em: yard work, car repairs, tossing the ball around, you name it.

But not today. 

I briefly wondered if I’d gone deaf, but then my foot hit that squeaky spot in the floor that no number of years will set in my memory. I’m not deaf. 

When I got to the kitchen to fix my coffee, I checked out the window: nothing. Not a soul in sight, even though all their yards grew unkempt and cars sat broken down and baseballs lay forgotten in the grass. 

It’s a small community here. Maybe I’d forgotten some important meeting to decide the fate of…whatever. I racked my brain and came up with nothing. 

I finished my coffee with the silence echoing inside my head, set my cup in the sink, and stepped outside. 

It was like everyone had been abducted by aliens in the night, or maybe the rapture occurred. Eerie. Silent. Lonely. Still.   


I looked up and down the street. The end of my block meets the highway, and though I stood for nearly half an hour, not a single car passed by. 

I don’t know what’s going on. 

I’m afraid. 

This village has no future, except mine. 

TBP: tnkerr’s prompt

8 Comments on “No One Else Around”

  1. LRose says:

    Holy.Crap…this is good!

  2. This is very well written!! 🙂

  3. tnkerr says:

    You just shine with this one! Great job with the prompt, I think it was not an easy one.
    When I was giving the prompts to the Bandits sometimes they would all moan at a series of prompts but, like troopers, they rose to the challenge. Without fail, some of the best output came from the prompts they liked the least.
    So, I have to ask. What was your opinion of the prompt when you first read it?

  4. Beautifully written… Please checkout my blog.


Leave a Reply

