Ureteral Stent Procedure

 

photo credit Ian

 
That’s my stone there, the bright spot in the middle that kind of looks like Saturn. Unfortunately, you are looking at it from the long side; this means it’s pointed the wrong way to pass easily. The jerk. 

While it may still have passed on its own, when my urinalysis came back with bacteria and a high white count, this meant I was probably getting an infection, and the safest route was to go ahead with the stent for now and break it up in the OR when they could schedule me in. 

So now I have a tube in my right ureter. It’s yellow and stripy. 

I also learned that I have a mass on my adrenal gland that is most likely benign, but I am to see my primary care doctor for a metabolic panel to check on that. 

The PA said that my husband would be allowed in the room while they placed the stent, but that turned out to not be the case. 

When I got into the procedure room, the nurse gave me a sedative and sent me into the bathroom to empty my bladder and change into a gown. I was allowed to keep my bra and socks on, which was why I wore some snuggly wool socks that I got for Christmas. 

I came out and she gave me an antibiotic in my left cheek and a pain shot in my right. Then I got onto the table and put my legs in the stirrups. She cleaned me up with some cold pink stuff that she made sure I saw so I wouldn’t freak out when I cleaned up later. This was followed by gel in my urethra. 

She brought the packaged stent around so I could see what it looked like before I got to live with it. She got everything set up and in its place before leaving me to let the drugs kick in. 

The doctor came in briefly to introduce himself, followed by the radiology tech. Everyone was very nice and explained much more than I needed explaining, but I still appreciated that.

Then it was time to start. I turned my head to watch the monitor placed to my right. The doctor inserted the scope while filling my bladder with saline. The inside of my bladder is pretty unremarkable, except for the nice lump where the stone was bulging from inside the ureter. Unfortunately, it wasn’t close enough for the doctor to retrieve it immediately and negate any future procedures for this stone. 

It was uncomfortable, but not unbearable. My HSG was worse, and the ant bites I had then didn’t help either. 

By tipping my head upward, in between holding my breath for X-rays, I could see the other screen showing the guidewire from my bladder to my kidney. So weird. 

The doctor inserted the stent and removed the guidewire, and then he was done. 

They cleaned up the spilled saline and equipment and moved everything back out of the way so I could get up. 

The nurse helped me off the table because I was a little wobbly, and I went to the bathroom and peed forever because of all the saline. I got dressed and went to fetch Ian from the waiting room to go, and he griped because the PA said it would only take about twenty minutes. 

The procedure itself only took about twelve minutes, but I was back there about an hour because of waiting for medication to take effect and cleanup. 

If you’ve ever had a catheter, you probably know that it sucks to pee for a while afterwards. It still sucks to pee. 

8 Comments on “Ureteral Stent Procedure”

  1. susieshy45 says:

    Glad you are ok. Are you resting today ? How do you feel now ?
    Susie

  2. Lola says:

    Thanks for the great explanation of your procedure and the experience. I hope you’re recovering comfortably. 🙂

  3. abbiosbiston says:

    Sounds horrible. I very narrowly avoiding having a HSG by finding out I was pregnant a couple of days before I was scheduled to go.

  4. […] As I said the day I got it, if you’ve ever had a catheter, you probably know that it sucks to pee for a while afterwards. That lasted a couple days, and my urine was clear of visible blood by six days out. I read that intermittent bleeding can occur, but I’ve been fortunate enough to not have that symptom.  […]


Leave a Reply

