The Bomb Buffalo Chicken Mac and Cheese*

If your Facebook feed is anything like mine, it’s inundated with Tasty recipe videos and their ilk. Sure, most of the stuff looks amazing, but when it comes down to it, who actually takes the time to make all this crap?

I sure don’t.

But I saw some buffalo chicken mac and cheese the other day when I was trying to find the crock pot buffalo wings my stepdad was talking about. Purely train wreck curiosity, I was not planning to make some tasty, crispy wings in the freaking crock pot, trust me.

Anyway, didn’t find those, but I saw the holy grail of side dishes.

Ian found another recipe and shared it, tagging me.

11054499_796144720476261_7556471526304156781_n

Last night, I made it.

Y’all. So good. Swear.

I don’t think I even need to say this, because it’s a recipe from the internet: I did not follow the instructions exactly.

Ingredients:
• 3 pounds boneless/skinless chicken breasts
• 1 12-ounce bottle of your favorite buffalo sauce
• 1 1-ounce packet of dry Ranch mix
• 6 tablespoons butter
• 3 cups uncooked macaroni
• 12-16 ounces shredded cheese (such as cheddar)
• 3 eggs (beaten)
• 1 can cheddar cheese soup
• 1/2 cup sour cream
• 1 cup milk
• Seasoning to taste (salt, pepper, dry mustard, oregano, etc.)

Directions:
• Cut chicken into bite-sized pieces and add to Crock-Pot® Slow Cooker
• Pour entire bottle of buffalo sauce and packet of ranch mix on top of chicken
• Cook on low for 5-6 hours (until chicken is cooked through)
• Once chicken is ready, boil and drain the macaroni and set aside
• Melt butter and grated cheese in a saucepan over medium heat
• Place cooked macaroni, melted cheese, sour cream, beaten eggs, cheese soup and seasonings on top of the buffalo chicken
• Cook on high for about 2 hours

I used medium shells, because they’re better. I used a dismantled rotisserie chicken, because we went to the store at 4, and I wasn’t waiting until midnight to eat. Or the next day. So I dismantled the chicken, put it in the crock pot, covered it in desperate housewife cocaine and buffalo sauce, and moved straight to the fourth step.

And now, reading the ingredients again, I notice that I forgot the milk entirely. This did not harm the final product. And in my defense, it’s not in the instructions.

Y’all. This stuff is so good. Which is why this post is categorized not only under Food but also Emotions and Self Improvement. Because I had them and did some.

I will likely leave the chicken out to make this as a side dish instead of main course.

*As seen in this post.

2 Comments on “The Bomb Buffalo Chicken Mac and Cheese*”

  1. abbiosbiston says:

    This looks delicious but I have no idea what flavours buffalo and ranch are…

    • April says:

      ‘Murica!

      Okay, ranch is usually a mix of parsley, dill, onion powder and garlic powder. The packets have dried buttermilk too, and you mix them with sour cream or mayonnaise for dip or dressing.

      And buffalo sauce is hot sauce and butter.


Leave a Reply

