More Work Stuff

The drama never ends, y’all!

Today was the manager’s day off. I worked 845 to 6 and agreed to take phone calls for assistance from the other part-timer, who closed tonight. She’s been with us a year. She started last holiday season. 

She called me fifteen times by 930, when I agreed to go up there and engrave three pens that no one else seemed to be able to do. 

They were trying to put two lines on them. You can’t do that; you can only hold a pen with one set of work holders, and due to the narrow cylindrical nature of pens, you can only engrave one line. The customer had selected pens that only had one engraving area and a design on the rest of the pen. One line was the absolute limit. 

She ended up getting a refund. 

The closer refused to complete the day’s engraving, so I’ll be at work bright and early tomorrow to finish up. 

I did more than twice the work on my single-coverage shift than three of them did in four hours. 

I think the district manager had better make me a pretty good offer for a promotion, when he gets around to it after Christmas. 

Just argh. 

3 Comments on “More Work Stuff”

  1. Lola says:

    I love your “retail” stories! I really do. 🙂

  2. susieshy45 says:

    Ask him for one or threaten to quit.You need a break, April.

  3. abbiosbiston says:

    Mr O has worked many, many retail jobs and it really is an industry that chews its employees up and spits them out.


Leave a Reply

