Plenty More

destiny-courageThey were gone, and she didn’t think they were coming back. Her parents, that is. They’d pulled over on the side of the road for her to go potty, and while she was tugging her pants back up, she heard whispering and then felt a dozen tiny nicks from the gravel on her skin, kicked up by the tires as they sped off.

But she didn’t really care. They were just parents. Plenty more where that came from, right? Still, it was a bit of a downer to lose her fruit punch that she hadn’t quite finished drinking. That annoyance was what caused her to put her hands on her hips.

After a minute, she huffed and started walking. Soon enough, a small red car pulled over and a concerned woman rolled down the passenger side window to ask if she was lost.

“No ma’am,” she politely answered. “I’m not lost, but I am in need of some new parents. Do you know anyone on the market?”

The woman was taken aback. She’d never been spoken to in such a way by a child. The sense of it fell a bit outside of her experience.

“It’s okay,” the girl said, when she didn’t receive a response to her query. “I’ll keep looking. Have a nice day!” And she continued walking.

The woman was even more confused. Had she just been dismissed by a kindergartner? She shook her head and went about her business. Someone else could clean up that mess. She gave the girl a wide berth as she pulled her car back onto the road.

The girl whistled as she continued on. It was a newly acquired skill, and she hadn’t quite got the hang of keeping in tune yet.

Picture Prompt #40

15 Comments on “Plenty More”

  1. LRose says:

    LOVE this! Great take. Many people have a story of the day when the folks drove off without them (one of my sisters, included), but it’s always told as this traumatic experience. Love that the worst thing about it is the loss of the juice box.

    • April says:

      Thank you! I do not have that story of my own. Lucky me!

      • LRose says:

        “Of all the people…” is the phrase you’d use after hearing that it was *that* sister who was left at the roadside stop. Never ending tears the rest of the day, and “I’ve always known my parents hate me.” What she should have said, “Why didn’t any of my siblings say something sooner? My siblings hate me.” Truth is they got about a single minute down the road when someone said, “Where’s M?” I have an excuse, though. I was a baby at the time.

  2. tnkerr says:

    Love this. I’d like to read more about this young lady!

  3. Fiona says:

    Love this!! I am sucked in and need to hear more now! 😉

  4. susieshy45 says:

    April,
    Nice take. I have never been left behind but I have been locked into a room at home and no one opened the door for many hours- I can tell you, it was scary.
    But this girl is one smart kid and has plenty of gumption.

  5. abbiosbiston says:

    This feels like a great start to an epic novel!

  6. […] posted here in response to this […]

  7. […] the girl who was left behind? Let’s find out what she’s been up to […]


Leave a Reply

