Finishing It

She set the knife back down and looked at him earnestly, “Oh, I’m sorry,” she said, “do you have a problem with this?”

“Oh no, not at all,” he answered. “I know perfectly well that when someone eats meat it’s because an animal died. I just prefer not to be the reason for that death. Go right ahead.”

She raised an eyebrow at his answer, but lifted the knife to continue dissecting the chicken carcass. “You’re the most easygoing vegetarian I’ve ever met, Sam.”

He took another bite of his avocado salad and nodded. “I know. It’s a personal choice, and I don’t believe in criticizing another’s personal choice when they’ve respected my own.”

She laughed and shook her head, keeping her eyes on what she was doing so as to not become one with her family’s dinner quite yet. A knock at the front door caused her to set the knife down yet again, and she quickly turned to the sink to wash her hands, a moue of annoyance on her lips.

“Don’t worry,” said Sam, rising to answer the door, “I’ll get it.”

“Thanks, Sam.”

He returned with a fat envelope which he laid on the counter near her, far enough away to avoid the risk of contamination. “Just a messenger.”

“Would you open it for me? I can’t imagine that it’s anything personal, not that I have the slightest idea what’s in there,” she said.

Sam retrieved the envelope and cracked the seal with a fingertip. He pulled the sheaf of papers from inside and unfolded them to read the first one. “Um, Lydia? I think you need to wash your hands.”

She gave him a quizzical look, but seeing the seriousness in his eyes, she quickly soaped up her hands and brought the towel with her to take the papers from him.

“Oh no,” she whispered. “He’s back.”

She leaned into Sam’s embrace for comfort, and he wrapped his arms around her, trying to soothe the pain he knew she was in.

“I’m so sorry, Lydia.”

She wept  until her tears ran dry and her shoulders heaved silently. Finally, she took a deep breath and spoke. “We have to go, Sam.”

“I know.”

They left, hand in hand, the pages forgotten on the table. As they slipped to the floor, one word stood out, handwritten over and over across the printed letter: Lydia.

Wed Stories at TBP: I didn’t follow the rules!

6 Comments on “Finishing It”

  1. LRose says:

    Whatever. I award you a “hall pass” for not only setting up a good little mystery, but for participating in NaNoWriMo, and getting your 50K words in before deadline, and for being a NaNoWriMo Leader…Person…Manager…Thing.
    Rules, shmules, as TN (would probably) tell you, are for being ignored when true inspiration hits.
    EXTRA! https://theblogpropellant.files.wordpress.com/2015/06/tbp-x-bp-logo.png

  2. susieshy45 says:

    April, Happy Thanksgiving and can there be a Thanksgiving meal without meat – I wonder. Hope you have a wonderful day, sister.

  3. abbiosbiston says:

    Oooh… creepy…


Leave a Reply

