More Poo

Today was my day off. Was. We open at noon on Sundays, but the manager called me at 1247 to see if I could go in. I agreed because he told me no rush, just something had happened with the new assistant manager and security had to call 911 and they took her to the hospital.

So I got to work and I asked security what happened. Security said the assistant manager told them that she had a gas leak in her house last night when they found her on the floor of the kiosk crying. Security called 911. The EMTs said she needed to go to the ER, but she wasn’t out of it so much that she couldn’t give security the manager’s phone number to tell him that she was going. Also, her mom was at work with her for some reason.

I was not aware that a gas leak in one’s home makes one come to work to sit on the floor and cry. And she called the manager eventually, after I had already been at the store for half an hour, to tell him that she didn’t go to the hospital because she doesn’t have insurance. She assured him that she would be at work on Tuesday ‘no matter what.’ She’s off tomorrow.

And then she called the store ten minutes before close and acted like she was my best friend, all “hey girl” and shit. Like, seriously? I guess she thinks if you pretend something never happened, then it never happened.

Such a mess. The district manager is coming next week to make sure this situation is ‘handled,’ whatever that means in his world. But we at the store have had it with her.

7 Comments on “More Poo”

  1. tnkerr says:

    Your place of work seems to provide a continuing source of DRAMA. This can be annoying but it can also be a rich source of inspiration for writers such as yourself. Mine this, squeeze the stories out, make lemonade.
    I’m sorry you had to work on your day off but jeeze, what stories you could write!

  2. LRose says:

    It’s not that I actually like what you are going through, but having managed a couple of drama queens/kings in my time, I can empathize. Your last comment made me giggle.

    • April says:

      I can giggle now, it’s so unbelievable. I managed food service for years, so I worked with tons of high school kids, but they were all more professional than this ‘professional.’ Even the spoiled brats.

  3. abbiosbiston says:

    Ugh!


Leave a Reply

