Sprinting to the Middle of the Race

Y’all. Yesterday I read about this amazing thing, and it has helped me tremendously!

As I commented on Amanda’s post last night, I had never visited the NaNoWriMo forums before, and I’d never heard of a word crawl. You all know I was incredibly disgruntled and discouraged when I got home from work yesterday, but I still read a few (very few) posts before settling in bed with my Kindle.

I’m rereading the Night Angel trilogy, if you were wondering.

Anyway, After reading about Amanda’s incredible word counts from yesterday–this gal is over 35,000 already–I had to go check it out. The first one that caught my eye was the Fifty Headed Hydra. So I clicked it.

This challenge came into existence when someone I cannot remember the name of wrote 500 words in five minutes, but the only correctly spelled words were Fifty Headed Hydra.

Heck, I thought. I can do that. Five minutes later, I had 416 words! How cool is that?

About an hour later, after reading around and trying some other sprints and things, I ended up with 2,357 words for the day. Not too shabby for a day I was going to throw in the towel without even starting.

On the other hand, I absolutely cannot wait for Friday when I’m off work and have no appointments. I’ll novel a bit and then write at least half a dozen posts to schedule for the upcoming week. I don’t want to write about nothing but writing during NaNoWriMo; I want my blog to stay somewhere away from that so I can escape from the self-imposed albatross.

Although it’s working out much better this year than last year. I didn’t touch last year’s novel, even once, after November. Maybe I’ll rewrite it next year; it wasn’t a bad idea, it just didn’t thrill me after the first fifteen thousand words.

But seriously, look over there at that beautiful status bar–it’s filling up!

Leave a Reply

