The Berwick Monster

Y’all, I am creeped out just from googling images to include in this post for you. Here, let me start you off right:

Oh my goodness, now I have to look at that scary thing as I type. I better type a lot, and quickly, so I can scroll down enough to not have to look at it anymore. I may have to delete it until I’m done writing. Deep breaths.

Who’s heard of the Berwick Monster? Wait. I should probably give you some background on me first.

I am a huge weenie.

There. I’ve said it, it’s posted on the internet for everyone to see. Things that scare the crap out of me: monsters, aliens, Bigfoot, ghosts, supernatural whatever, anything and everything along these lines. Seriously. The Blair Witch Project
scared me. Okay?

Now you know.

Anyway, the Berwick Monster. Ugh, I had my feet up on another chair under the table, and now I’m scared to put them on the floor. I’m that bad. And I will tell you, it looks like there are more articles debunking or scoffing than supporting.

So, five years ago, a hunter claimed to have footage from a camera strapped to his deer stand of this swamp monster. At the time, my parents lived in the town next to Berwick, so the next time we went down there to visit, Ian decided we would go monster hunting.

I am not a stranger to the idea of going somewhere creepy and doing stupid things. In fact, my friends and I used to drive around all night looking for small country cemeteries or unused dirt roads to nowhere. Maybe bring the Ouija board, scare the crap out of each other, good times were had by all.

But I had never gone specific monster hunting, and I had never gone to hunt some scary viral internet newsworthy monster in my parents’ back yard.

Ian and I and my brother and his best friend got in the car and drove to Berwick to find some dark, deserted roads. In the middle of the night in a small town, that’s not a challenge. Then we found a dirt road.

I was not coping well.

And then someone decided we had to turn the lights off and get out of the car.

Traumatic.

Fortunately, we did not see any monsters. Because there probably isn’t one. But that doesn’t affect my fear.

So if you like driving around and getting scared, we have plenty of places for that, all over Louisiana.

Tues Truthiness: My Country ’tis of Thee

6 Comments on “The Berwick Monster”

  1. LRose says:

    I agree. That picture…(shiver). I’m a card-carrying member of the weenie-hood as well. Halloween is a bunch of fun as long as it isn’t actually a slasher, real monsters creep fest.

  2. I’m more afraid of conditions than I am of this kind of thing but I admit, reading this spooked me a little!

  3. KarmenF says:

    How on earth did you make it through publishing this post?! I just had to curl my arms and legs into the love seat for protection and I’m really not sure how I’m going to stand up to walk to the bathroom! I may have to leap to allow sufficient distance between under the love seat and where my feet land! What kinda arm range you think that thing has? I think I can clear five feet… If I don’t post anything tomorrow call in the paranormal people, please…


Leave a Reply

