Mooses and Rings

Today’s Daily Prompt:

What’s your most prized possession?

It’s funny, I was thinking earlier about a stuffed moose I used to have, thanks to a fellow blogger. He wasn’t a large moose; just big enough to snuggle with in bed. And I know my husband is going to cringe here, but his name was Moose. To further demonstrate my childhood naming capabilities, Moose’s cohorts were named Big Bear, Little Bear, and Rabbit. I may have had a bit of a naming block. IMG_8138

For a long time, Moose was my most prized possession. When I moved out the first time, taking with me not much besides clothing, I came back to find that much of what I had left was gone forever. I’m sure that experience, combined with the multiple moves and bi-annual household swap of a child of divorce are what led to the me that we have today: someone who can drop it all and leave.

I always have such a problem with that question about saving one thing if your house was on fire. I rack my brain, but I never seem to be able to come up with something that’s more important than any other thing. I mean, I’m already wearing my wedding and engagement rings. I wouldn’t risk it to go back for anything else. I can always get another.

So I guess my rings are my most prized possessions.

And I feel better today. Much less out of it. And not so dizzy.

5 Comments on “Mooses and Rings”

  1. lifelessons says:

    I once had 70 rings stolen in a burglary. I had considered them so important. Two were the only gifts my father ever gave me and one was my mother’s engagement ring, but I discovered my life didn’t change at all. It helped me to separate a bit from things, although you will see by my post that I still enjoy them!!! http://judydykstrabrown.com/2015/10/25/prized/

  2. susieshy45 says:

    April, loved your post. I don’t think I have any prized possessions. If you ask me what I would try to save if there was a fire, it would be my cat. Not because I love cats, but because he is a living being and he is completely dependent on us for his survival. Other than that, material possessions, human beings, nada.

    • April says:

      Thanks Susie. In most of the if there was a fire questions I’ve heard, there’s usually a qualifier that all living things are out safely, or it’d be cats and turtles for me.

  3. abbiosbiston says:

    I would definitely say my rings too. Everything else is just stuff.


Leave a Reply

