Reflections on the Radish

I love the synchronicity the world lays before me as an offering most days. Maybe I look harder for it than most; maybe it’s kismet. Last week it was quiche, quiche everywhere. Facebook, fellow bloggers, one of the books I was reading. 

Today it’s self-reflection.

One of the first things I read this morning was Lori’s post about her kids’ Instagrams and the proliferation of their selfies; she makes her point about how selfies “show the world how you want to be seen,” while she prefers to learn “how you see the world.” Keep encouraging them to turn the camera around, Lori. One day they’ll realize you know what you’re talking about. One day.

But I was amused, because Lori knows that my Instagram is all about the art of the selfie; sometimes there’s Ian and our cats, but rarely anything else, especially the world. That, however, is the whole point, and I said as much. I express how I see myself with a mirror, but I express how I see the world with words.

Here is where I show you how I see this world, and others. 

I love photographs, don’t get me wrong. I keep far too many on my phone. But the problem with photos is their stillness. Even when capturing motion perfectly, they’ve only captured a frozen bit of time. They can be beautiful truth and honest beauty, but only the briefest moment of either.

The cascade of words they trigger can be so deep and affecting, though. The trope of boring vacation albums isn’t the same without the lengthy, ear-bleeding stories right alongside.

Here is where I make your ears bleed. 

Well, metaphorically.

Then there’s the Daily Prompt:

Think of your blog as a mirror: what does it reveal? Consider your blog name, theme choice, design, bio, posts… what does every element tell you about yourself?

My, oh my. It is a bit telling, isn’t it? 

I mean, since I so cleverly named my blog after myself and all. Mirror indeed.

It’s like reading an accurate horoscope. Simple and straightforward, likes to keep things around even past their prime and/or relevance, slightly above and beyond the normal look-at-my-blog-and-love-me narcissism. 

But then, it’s also like reading any run-of-the-mill horoscope, isn’t it? I see what I want to see of myself here. Someone else could see different aspects of my personality, or none at all. 

Although, as a part-time diarist, I’d hope there to be at least something of me here.

A tidbit?

4 Comments on “Reflections on the Radish”

  1. tnkerr says:

    I am so happy to learn that I brought you quiche last week! I really love those moments that prove coincidence might exist. (might being the operative word here)

  2. LRose says:

    “by LRose” is about as obvious as it gets, right?
    Your spirit is clearly creative and dynamic. However you use the mainstream, will be unique.
    See you, and See the world. It’s all legit.
    Happy to have you along for the ride lil’ sis.


Leave a Reply

