Walking the Goose

girl and doveWhenever I’m feeling down, I try to take a moment to enjoy the knick knacks my grandmother left me.

She had such a collection at her house, and when we lost her, we learned how well she had paid attention to each of us over the years, and knew exactly which one to pass on to which grandkid and great-grandkid.

I always pretended I was the little girl, bringing my pet goose with me for a walk. Grandma remembered that, and it helps me to remember her. I miss her, but she still puts a smile on my face.

Pre-Picture Prompt Picture Prompt by LRose

3 Comments on “Walking the Goose”

  1. LRose says:

    Truth? Those two figurines were my mothers, which I took as keepsakes after both my folks were gone and we had to sell their house. She would have loved this little story, very much.

    • April says:

      I’m glad to hear that. I picked up a clown figurine at a secondhand store once because it reminded me so much of something I would have seen at my grandparents’ house. It’s little things like those that can mean so much when all that’s left is memory.


Leave a Reply

