Thirty Days in the Hole

Today’s Daily Prompt:

A contagious disease requires you to be put into quarantine for a whole month (don’t worry, you get well by the time you’re free to go!). How would you spend your time in isolation?

  1. This isn’t so bad. I will miss my cat, though. Be good for Grandma, Mr Whiskers! It’s gonna be so weird using a landline for a month.
  2. One down, twenty-nine to go. I think the light in here makes my skin look a funny color.
  3. It isn’t the light.
  4. Still slightly greenish. I wish they’d have let me bring a camera in here so I could post selfies to Facebook and Instagram. But my mom brought Mr Whiskers to see me.
  5. This rash is not fun.
  6. Not fun at all.
  7. And it’s spread to my scalp. I want to rip my hair out of my greenish skin.
  8. THE AGONY AND THE ECSTASY OF SCRATCHING THIS RASH.
  9. I am covered in scabs. I can’t read anymore because I bleed on the pages when I turn them.
  10. Must. Not. Pick.
  11. I picked.
  12. You know how when you have a scab that’s ready to come off and it itches? That everywhere.
  13. Thank you for visiting me, Mr Whiskers! I wish I could pet you and hold you and love you instead of stare at you through the glass. You make the bad itchies go away.
  14. Did I mention that I don’t have adequate shower facilities?
  15. I do believe that every square inch of floor is coated in skin or scabs. Pretty gross. Looks like I’m spending the next two weeks in bed.
  16. Have you ever gotten scabs between your toes? Your faintly green-tinged toes?
  17. I think I’m completely healed. On the surface. The green surface.
  18. Yup, still green.
  19. I thought I was supposed to be better by now?
  20. Ain’t no sunshine when she’s gone. Only darkness every day. Ain’t no sunshine when she’s gone, and this house just ain’t no home, anytime she goes away.
  21. When I get out I think it will be fall. I will jump in the leaves like I never jumped in the leaves before.
  22. I think, I could be wrong, but I think, I might be getting better.
  23. Yes. I am definitely getting better. Not so Kermit today.
  24. Is it still the same year? It feels like forever and a day.
  25. When I look at my hands, they look like someone else’s hands. My hands are green, and these hands are not green.
  26. Are feet shoes?
  27. Mr Whiskers Mr Whiskers Mr Whiskers
  28. Today I ate the phone book. It tasted yellow.
  29. So many people are looking at me.
  30. What is that? There’s a big giant hole in my wall! No! You can’t come in you can’t come in imcontagious
7 Comments on “Thirty Days in the Hole”

  1. LRose says:

    Very fun take! It felt original. And… #20 is one of my all-time favorite songs, so big smile. And, I realized I was scratching a non-existent itch while reading this post.

  2. OnChi says:

    This made me smile. Very imaginative.

  3. Tim Gatewood says:

    Well done, Sir! Very imaginative and funny. And Short. All of which are more than I achieved.


Leave a Reply

