Time to Write

I’ve been sitting her for probably fifteen minutes with a blank screen. I started two titles, but then they wouldn’t work, so I deleted them.

I haven’t the foggiest idea of what to write about today.

I asked Ian what to write about before I started; he said something happy.

I thought of several happy things, but I couldn’t make them into stories right now. It’s just not there in my brain. Also Ian’s watching Forged in Fire next to me, and it’s kind of entertaining. So I’m a little distracted instead of concentrating on the words.

But I can tell you about happy memories without telling a story.

When I was a kid, I spent summers in Michigan at my dad’s house. I had a lot of fun there. We went to farmer’s markets, we went to the park, we went to the lake, and we went on mini vacations. Mostly though, I enjoyed that my dad lived in the same place for several years, and so I had the same friend living across the street every summer. She had a huge yard, and we used to make tunnels in her sand pile. I really loved doing that.

Another happy memory is the first time Ian and I told each other I love you–it was in the back of a friend’s minivan, driving down the road.

I remember when I was eight, my sister and I received similar intricately embroidered dresses from one of my dad’s trips to Mexico. I wore my yellow dress to school one day, and the other kids made fun of me for wearing my nightgown to school. It hurt, but I really loved that dress, so it didn’t bother me all that much.

In fourth grade I caught a dragonfly and won a turtle at school.

I think it’s time for me and Ian to start planning another camping trip. That would be happy.

And today I found the picture Ian took of my x-ray from when I broke my toe and it was sticking out sideways. Weird thing to be happy about, I know, but I’m pretty proud of that break.

20120302-135551.jpg

2 Comments on “Time to Write”

  1. Stasy says:

    That break looks painful!

    I loved all these happy memories. 🙂


Leave a Reply

