Under the Name Sanders

When we were packing up the last dribs and drabs of our stuff from our old house to bring here, I had a bit of a moment.

It was mildly stressful, what with bringing boxes of our stuff one way and boxes of my brother-in-law’s stuff the other way, back and forth, unpacking to reuse boxes that would withstand one more trip, you know, the usual moving brouhaha.

I was finishing up our pantry, from the top shelf down to the floor. My brother-in-law was helping me sort things, because we left a lot for him and his fiancé since they didn’t have much of anything. This is staying, this is going, do you like these cookies, you can have these glasses.

I got to the floor, which was mostly cat products: shampoos, flea shampoos, flea spray (because if you have a pet here, you will get fleas every summer), cat food, cat litter. Also a few odds and ends of the type that everyone has, wherever their catch-all place is: a single shoe whose match must be somewhere, Ian’s double two-liter bottle tornado maker, the styrofoam coolers from Omaha Steaks that we’d bring home leftovers from holidays at my parents’ house. 

And this blue plastic toolbox. What is in there? I don’t remember this box. I turned it and saw that it was labeled Sanders. I told my brother-in-law that I didn’t know anyone named Sanders, so he could keep it.

I put it under the table by the front door.

We finished up and got the next load packed into the car. On the way out, I thought I should probably check Sanders’ box to make sure it wasn’t something interesting Ian had found dumpster diving.

So I opened it.

And I laughed out loud at myself.

Sanders. Not a person’s name. A contents description. It was the box of my stepdad’s sanders that Ian had borrowed for our porch.

I thought my mistake was hysterical, and when my brother-in-law came to find out what was so funny, he laughed at me too. He volunteered to swear secrecy, but that was just too good of a story to not tell.

The sanders came home with me, of course.

And I still don’t know anyone named Sanders.

Check out what else is funny today at The Blog Propellant.

9 Comments on “Under the Name Sanders”

  1. LRose says:

    The English language can be so confusing sometimes.

  2. susieshy45 says:

    April, thanks for the laugh- feel happy that you found something to laugh about today.
    Have a wonderful day !

  3. It took me such a long while to get it XD

  4. abbiosbiston says:

    This made me smile!


Leave a Reply

