Cloning a Dishwasher

Today’s Daily Prompt:

If you could clone yourself, how would you split up your responsibilities?

An interesting prompt; more so when one considers the implications.

Because the answer truly depends on the scenario.

Is my clone me, down to the last memory, down to the last emotional response?

Do we have the same desires, the same goals, the same aspirations?

In this case, we’d have to alternate, say, years. I get one year continuing this life, she gets one year hiking the Bicentennial National Trail in Australia, or taking side trips from the Trans-Siberian Railway. Then we could switch. This would work fabulously because I thought of it, so I’d agree to it.

Of course, that plan is ruined now that Ian knows about it.

But what of another interpretation, in which my clone is simply a genetic copy of me, with none of my memories or personality quirks?

Another, and separate, person.

When the subject is a reasoning being, is there any such thing as “just” a copy?

I couldn’t carelessly split up my responsibilities with no consideration of her feelings. I couldn’t subjugate her to my will without the possibility of repercussions.

I couldn’t assume that she would be in agreement with anything I say or do. I couldn’t send her to work in my stead; she has no training.

And if she were a truly blank slate? We wouldn’t even be able to communicate before she learned to talk. Of what use would that be?

Sharing responsibilities with a clone isn’t like having a dishwashing robot. I guess it could be, but that’s not the first thing I think of when I think about a clone.

I may have read too much science fiction.

But a dishwashing robot would be nice.

8 Comments on “Cloning a Dishwasher”

  1. susieshy45 says:

    Or you could send one of your clones to visit all your international followers and you could sit at home and guide her about where to go and what to do.
    By the way, your clone is welcome to visit my home, any time.

  2. Abbi says:

    I can lend you my husband for the dish washing…

  3. lilypup says:

    Amen to a dishwashing AND cleaning robot! Does she do windows? https://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/2015/02/17/clone-wars/


Leave a Reply

