Pork Grillades

The latest issue of Cook’s Country arrived a few days ago. I haven’t completely read it cover to cover yet, but that’s coming. It always does. I cannot resist a Cook’s Country.

The second recipe in the magazine is for a Louisiana classic: pork grillades. Ian made them for dinner last night.

IMG_4524
Y’all. That was some kind of good, cher!

See? I lost my good English, it was so tasty.

Grillades is all about the sauce. You start with a roux, and when the onions, celery, peppers, tomatoes, and all the spices make it happen, it happens.

The bread is our new house favorite, a roasted garlic loaf from the local grocery store’s bakery. We’ve had it with white sauced pasta, red sauced pasta, tenderloin, roast chicken, and now grillades–all in the past two weeks.

I am so glad I married such a good cook. Thank you, sweetie!

By the way–we had homemade Rice Krispies treats for dessert. I know you’re super jealous now.

And I had leftover grillades for breakfast today.

Don’t drown in that drool.

6 Comments on “Pork Grillades”

  1. susieshy45 says:

    Wow. I was literally wishing I was there watching you all eat, from your description.
    Great writing as usual !

  2. Oooh ooh ooh..that looks yummy!

  3. Abbi says:

    I have no idea what grillades are. Tell me more!

    • April says:

      Hmm, whole tomato based sauce with other veggies, seared pork chops thrown in to cook low and slow until they’re like butter, green onions on top…super good! Have you heard of etouffee? It’s kind of like that with more tomatoes in the sauce.


Leave a Reply

