Do or Die!

What to write about my second day of NaBloPoMo? The Daily Prompt sounds good:

You have three hundred words to justify the existence of your favorite person, place, or thing. Failure to convince will result in it vanishing without a trace. Go!

This is serious business, y’all. There’s favorites, but then there’s favorites, you know. Like in sixth grade when your best friend asks if you like him or if you like like him.

It’s that serious, but you see me wasting a significant portion of my three hundred words on blibbetty blah.

Because my favorite song speaks for itself.

Panama.

If you’ve been around the block a few times with me, you know I have to bring up Van Halen’s Panama at least once a year.

Best song ever. For reals.

You trust me, right?

You have to trust me, of course. Ain’t no way I can explain in three hundred words the glory of this song.

It’s so–peppy!

And so–catchy!

And I mean, come on. It’s David Lee Roth, for crying out loud. Diamond Dave! Aside from David Bowie, who’s better than that? Serious question, guys. I’d like to know your preferences.

Not that he’s a good-looking guy. Not by a long shot (sorry, Dave). It’s his charisma that wins me over. The man does have a stage presence.

And Eddie Van Halen is almost equally impressive on guitar. Almost.

But the song itself!

I really love this song.

Have you ever been depressed? Not just sad or unhappy or disappointed, really depressed, in need of hospitalization, so depressed that suicidal would be an improvement. I hope not, but it happens to some of us. Over and over or relentlessly, it happens.

Sometimes life gets in the way of living. Sometimes brain chemistry gets in the way of life. Sometimes antidepressants become more essential than food and water. Sometimes all you can do is lie there, lacking the will to move, wondering if today will be the day your body gives up on your brain.

Panama never let me down.

2 Comments on “Do or Die!”

  1. susieshy45 says:

    I am trying to understand your post and wonder what it means but it is good writing.


Leave a Reply

