Prompt Snobbery

Yesterday’s Daily Prompt asked us what kind of snobs we are. I didn’t participate since it was What I Love Wednesday; and yet, the prompt stuck in my head. As I commented on Saya’s post, I think I might be a prompt snob.

No. It’s definite. I am a prompt snob.

As I traveled on my bloggy way from my infertility niche to infidelity niche and back, and now on to simply being a writer who loves to write, I have noticed that occasional moue of displeasure on my mind as I read prompts and dismiss them. That pickiness expressed by ignoring the prompt. The slightly bitter taste of disdain in the back of my throat.

It strikes when I least expect it.

Ah! An inspiring NaBloPoMo theme! I sign up immediately. And yet, before the first week is out, you will hear: Ugh! What in the name of all that is good do they expect me to do with that?

Ah! There’s an interesting Daily Prompt! I must read all these wonderful posts about it! I must write my own! And yet, before I’ve even titled: Ugh! What was I thinking? This will never do.

Why then, you may ask, do I bother to read said prompts?

I do have a list of my own prompts that I made up one slow night at work. Over fifty, in fact. I seem to have misplaced it…perhaps when I cleaned out my bag.

Ideas pop into my head constantly–I neglect to write most of them down, and they are lost forever.

So many topics, so much to say, but this is not the time; this is not the place.

I am opinionated, yes, but I have no desire to be overly controversial. I will not get into an Internet fight on my own blog.

I refuse to share fiction with you, my dear readers, unless it is finished. I can’t stand waiting for installments, and so I would never suffer you to do the same. I can’t start a story and post it.

So I prompt. And I snob. And the prompts are like Longfellow’s little girl.

There was a little girl,
Who had a little curl,
Right in the middle of her forehead.
When she was good
She was very very good,
And when she was bad she was horrid.

 

2 Comments on “Prompt Snobbery”

  1. Abbi says:

    I am a bit of a food snob…


Leave a Reply

