Eaten By A Grue

Today’s Daily Prompt:

“I would have written a shorter letter, but I did not have the time.” — Blaise Pascal
Where do you fall on the brevity/verbosity spectrum?

Any time I hear the word verbosity I think back to the 80s and 90s, and playing the text based RPG Zork. One of my favorite commands was maximum verbosity; this guaranteed a full description of my surroundings each and every time I entered an area.

The real problem was grues. If you were in a dark area, a pitch black area, you ran the risk of being eaten by said grues. I suffered that fate uncounted times.

This little story probably demonstrates my inclination to verbosity.

I can be brief, if I need to. But why, when so many wonderful words are out there waiting to be written?

On the spectrum? I’d say I’m sixty percent verbose, forty percent brief.

What do you think?

One Comment on “Eaten By A Grue”

  1. Jack Sutter says:

    I think it depends on what feels the most natural. Although if a persn prefers one over the other, practice makes it… not perfect, but more natural. I’m not necessarily turned off by verbosity like a lot of people seem to, when it comes to reading, and I’m not above bouncing back and forth as I please when it comes to writing. Sometimes I’m in a wordy mood and it just comes out that way, or feels right. Other times the essence of a post or a piece of flash fiction can get obscured. So yeah, my rule of thumb is generally just whatever feels natural at the time.


Leave a Reply

