Rereading for Fun and Profit–Mostly Fun

Today’s Daily Prompt:

Take a look at your bookcase. If you had enough free time, which book would be the first one you’d like to reread? Why?

Hold the phone. Do people not do this normally? The only reason I read so many new books now is because I borrow ebooks from my local library. Most of my life, I have reread and reread and reread the same fifty or so books.

Which would be my first pick right now? That’s a good question.

Hold on, I’m looking.

Okay, I’ve got it! I’d reread The Neanderthal Parallax by Robert J. Sawyer. So I’d start with Hominids.

I even have reasoning for this! I just finished Atomic Accidents: A History of Nuclear Meltdowns and Disasters: From the Ozark Mountains to Fukushima by James Mahaffey. So, lots of science-y stuff about heavy water, et cetera. Hominids begins with some experiments and a huge tank of heavy water. Ta da!

I’m amused that I’m sitting in the living room, searching the hardcovers, and The Neanderthal Parallax is three paperbacks in the bedroom. I’d go get the first one, but I’m supposed to be picking something for us to watch when Ian gets home in about ten minutes. Oops!

Leave a Reply

