Book Lovin’

A while back, Abbi from Where The Wild Things Are shared a book challenge:

Rules: In a text post, list ten books that have stayed with you in some way. Don’t take but a few minutes, and don’t think too hard – they don’t have to be the ‘right’ or ‘great’ works, just ones that have touched you. Tag ten friends, including me, so I’ll see your list. Make sure you let your friends know that you tagged them!

I’m with Abbi; rules are for fools! Although I will make it text. I just won’t tag. Feel free!

Occasional spoilers. Duh.

  1. God Emperor of Dune, Frank Herbert. This was easily the first one to come to mind; a friend posted on Facebook recently asking what’s the most powerful novel we’ve ever read. A close second is Children of Dune, since Leto II is my favorite character from the series. But I chose God Emperor because I admire Leto II. Oh, he’s undoubtedly a monster, physically and emotionally. Look at his casual ghola disposals. But just because he had to sacrifice his humanity, and ultimately, his life, to prevent the extinction of mankind doesn’t mean he can’t enjoy himself a little here and there. Powerful indeed, especially to someone who lives with fear as a constant companion.
  2. We Need to Talk About Kevin, Lionel Shriver. I mentioned this book last year, in a Q&A for Ian. The movie does not do it justice, y’all. The suspense and conflict are so beautifully written. It’s a marvel.
  3. Watership Down, Richard Adams. I want to say that almost everything I learned about warfare I learned from this book, but that feels silly. I mean, it’s about rabbits, for crying out loud. But it feels true.
  4. Demon, John Varley. I do have a penchant for series. Once I get into a story, I don’t want to leave. Again, it was hard to choose which one of the trilogy has stayed with me the most, but Demon I’ve read the most, and so Demon it is. I would dearly love for Mr. Varley to let us know how Gaby does in her governance of the wheel.
  5. A Planet Called Treason, Orson Scott Card. I think this is an interesting choice because the book was re-released as simply Treason a few years ago, with some mostly PC editing. Every time I read the newer version, I still notice every altered word choice. The original was the one I learned so well, and love so much. Another world I would be thrilled to learn more about. I quoted it here.
  6. The Last Battle, C. S. Lewis. The final installment of the chronicles of Narnia. I still cry, even knowing what’s going to happen, even knowing that the end is a beginning.
  7. The Waste Land, and Other Poems, T. S. Eliot. This is the book I brought with me on my road trips. This poor, tattered little paperback has seen a lot of miles. This is the one I recommend the most, if you’re only choosing one from this list to read. Read this one. The Love Song of J Alfred Prufrock is a favorite of mine.
  8. The Waste Lands, Stephen King. I loved The Dark Tower. I should correct that. I loved the first half of The Dark Tower. The third book is where the real story gets going, when the three have been drawn, when the gunslinger has been maimed. And Blaine is a pain.
  9. River God, Wilbur Smith. I’ve only read this one two or three times, so one of the least read on this list, but it’s an awesome book. As is the rest of the series.
  10. Tiger Eyes, Judy Blume. I just found out this week that this book was made into a movie in 2012, and I watched it on Netflix last night. A very faithful adaptation, by the way, although the blue Subaru was changed. I read this over and over as a kid.

And yes, just like Abbi, I could easily list a hundred rather than ten. Maybe I’ll do that one day. Just title and author.

 

2 Comments on “Book Lovin’”

  1. Abbi says:

    Great choices! I love Watership Down so much!


Leave a Reply

