Happy ICLW!

Oops, I forgot that I signed up! Thank goodness for reminders, eh?

It’s been a while, and I haven’t posted in a couple weeks, so let’s have a nice getting-to-know-you post.

Hi! I’m April.

That’s entirely to cheery for how I’ve been feeling lately. Let’s take the exclamation point out.

Hi, I’m April. Welcome to my blog. If you’re new here, this started out as an infertility blog. You can read a timeline here. We called it quits with infertility treatments a while back to focus on foster adoption. Right now we’re just waiting to hear back from the DA, and then we can get home studied and start being foster parents. There’s so much less paperwork in family building the old fashioned way.

Let’s see, about me. I like to read, I like to cook, I like to write, I like to sew. My favorite book is The Waste Lands by T. S. Eliot. My favorite thing to cook is my vegetarian chili, but I’m not a vegetarian. My favorite thing to write is short fiction. My favorite thing to sew is pillows.

I have a husband, Ian, a stepdaughter, Abby, three cats and two turtles. Well, only one of the cats claims me, but you know how that goes.

I have two part time jobs, but I’m really a writer. Granted, that did not make me too much money last year, but it’s cool. I can’t wait to announce it at my next class reunion. They don’t need to see my 1099s.

I think that’s all for now. Ask me a question. I’ll answer.

10 Comments on “Happy ICLW!”

  1. Elisha says:

    Hi from ICLW! Fostering! WOW!! I admire you so much! Those kiddos are going to be so lucky to have you guys!! I used to work for DCFS and it was so hard finding good foster parents. I currently do a version of fostering. It’s called Safe Families for Children. It’s all volunteer. We don’t get money to watch them and the parents actually volunteer to place them with a “host family” while they get back on their feet. Some parents are going through Chemo and can’t care for their children properly, others want to voluntarily check themselves into rehab, and then there are the mom’s completely overwhelmed who need some help. We enjoy it. We currently have a 3 year old staying with us while her mom is in rehab. You can read about the program in my blog post here….

    http://waitingforbabybird.com/2013/11/02/blessed-to-be-a-blessing/

  2. Rachel says:

    Hi from ICLW! I’ve always wanted to foster…I always thought I’d do it once I’d had my kids, but I’m not sure how/if that’s going to happen so we might be doing it sooner than we realized!

  3. Good luck with foster adoption. It was something on our hearts for awhile, but has since been decided to be a NO GO. I wish you lost of luck and hope your home study gets moving quickly!

  4. Aurelia says:

    Good luck with your foster adoption next steps! It is something that my husband and I have discussed, but not pursued as of yet. Here via ICLW.

  5. daisyrhonda says:

    Hi April, here from ICLW.

    I love this “Well, only one of the cats claims me, but you know how that goes.” Yes, yes I do. But I still love cats irregardless of how they feel about me, lol.

    My husband and I are approved to adopt and are waiting for “the call”.

    • April says:

      How exciting, Daisy! May your call come soon!

      Lol, maybe I should have said ‘one of the cats claims only me.’ She won’t have much to do with anyone else, especially Abby. I like to think it’s because I’m the one who rescued her.


Leave a Reply

