It’s Awards Season

liebsterblogawardAnd the lovely Cheryl of Fat and Fabulous Me has chosen yours truly as a recipient of the Liebster Award. Most of you are familiar with this award, right? Here are the rules, per Cheryl’s post:

  1. Shout out to the blogger who gave you the award.
  2. Nominate 5 others bloggers with fewer than 200 followers.
  3. Answer 10 questions that are given to you by who nominated you.
  4. Give 10 questions to the bloggers who you are nominating.

And here are my answers to Cheryl’s questions!

  1. Earrings, bracelets or necklaces? Well, the one piece of jewelry that I always wear is my nose stud, which I rarely change from my standard white CZ. But out of those choices, right now I’ll go with earrings. I do favor bracelets over necklaces now, though.
  2. What is your favourite song currently? My all-time favorite is Van Halen’s Panama, but I’ve really been feeling Soundgarden’s Burden in My Hand lately.
  3. How many languages can you speak? Just English. I can ask you what time it is in Vietnamese, but unless it’s 9 o’clock, I won’t understand the answer. I took two years of high school French and a semester of college Spanish, but that’s long gone from my brain.
  4. Who is your role model? People you never hear about. People who listen to everyone else telling them ‘oh, you’re so smart, you could do so much, blah, blah, blah’ and don’t care, because they’re doing what makes them happy. Or Julia Child. I like her.
  5. Where do go or what do you do when you are feeling down? I stay in bed. I read. Or I migrate to the couch if no one’s home and watch stupid movies on Netflix. Lots of gory indie movies.
  6. Movies or dramas? Movies. It’s hard to keep up the good work over a long period of time.
  7. Which era would you want to live in if you had a choice? Oh, I’m a hippie, through and through. No bras and peace and love and raw food and stuff. And awesome music. Give me the 70s. Although now’s pretty good, too. Interwebs and stuff.
  8. Did you ever imagine yourself in a wacky hairstyle? Do share 🙂 Yes! I think the only wacky hairstyle that I’ve wanted and haven’t been brave enough to try is a mohawk. I shaved my head with I was 20, and I dyed my hair pink when I was 22 (awesome decision!). And then, of course, I chopped it all off a few months ago for spiky goodness.
  9. Would you be adventurous enough to be a solo traveller? Definitely! I used to drive cross country by myself to visit mIRC buddies. And to Canada. Granted, once I got where I was going, I wasn’t solo, but half the fun is the trip there, like 3500 miles to Yellowknife.
  10. Are you a left or right brainer? I’m a lefty, so right-brained, right? I’d say 70/30 right/left. My arty/moody side definitely beats out the fact that I can plus and times real good, and I have a badass sense of direction. I’ve never been lost. Which side is that? I’ll stick with 70/30. Although, isn’t my use of ratio an indicator of left-braininess? Or is my use of the word ‘braininess’ an indication of rightness? I could go on for days. No, wait, I’ve got it. I sew, but I don’t measure. I eyeball it. That’s right-brained, for sure.And it drives my mom and my sister crazy.

Now the part I always hate. Singling other people out. That must be a remnant of the dread I used to feel in school. Please don’t call on me. I know that answer is wrong and my answer is right, but please don’t make me stand up in front of all these people and point it out. Oh, why do we have to read aloud? Eek!! That dread. Okay, I pick:

  1. Tigger from Lifes Little Reflections.
  2. SRB from veggie sausages.
  3. ozifrog from maybe baby, J-man, & the adventures of hub-in-boots.
  4. SM from Unexplained Rantings.
  5. Rice Cakes & Redemption.

And their questions:

  1. What is the best meal ever, and does it have to be a specific person preparing it?
  2. Why do you blog?
  3. What was your favorite toy or game as a child?
  4. Do you use the snooze button or hit the ground running?
  5. Is a gift card (not requested) an acceptable gift? Defend your answer.
  6. If you could change your name with no hassle, would you? To what?
  7. Do you lock your door only at night or when home alone as well? If you have to lock your door at all.
  8. Would you like to live on a farm for a year? What kind of farm?
  9. What’s your favorite word?
  10. Do you think work uniforms are necessary, or are people capable of doing their job just as well in any presentable outfit of clothing? ‘Presentable’ in this case meaning no rips or tears, reasonably well fitted, and clean.

Any and all others are of course welcome to answer! I’d love to read even more answers to these questions.

5 Comments on “It’s Awards Season”

  1. I would love to experience the 70s if I had a chance and I salute you for shaving your head! 🙂

  2. Gede Prama says:

    article is quite interesting and hopefully true happiness rays began to warm the hearts of us all, when we can share it with sincerity. Greetings from Gede Prama 🙂

  3. Stasy says:

    I wish I was brave enough to shave my head. My poor hair has been through the wringer lately and is a hot mess.

    1) Chili, but only if I make it. No one else knows my recipe. 😉
    2) I started blogging because I was in a bad place after losing my first baby and needed somewhere to get it out. I still do it because I like it, though I don’t post nearly as much as I would like.
    3) Do books count? If not, then Barbies. I had a ton of them.
    4) The snooze button is my best friend.
    5) In some cases, yes. I can’t really explain when some are okay and others aren’t, other than it’s okay for me to give them to my teenage nephews because I would totally get the wrong games, but it’s not okay for me to give one to my husband.
    6) Probably not. I hated my name as a kid, but I’ve come to appreciate it as I’ve gotten older.
    7) When I was growing up, the only time we locked our doors was when there would be no one home. My parents are still that way. Here, though, the doors are locked all the time, whether we’re home or not. (Obviously, if we were hosting a party where people were in and out, then they would be unlocked.)
    8) I grew up on a farm. Just a small family farm, but we had cows, chickens, pigs, two horses, and some goats. We also had crops. (Just enough for us to feed ourselves and give some to friends/family.)
    9) It’s not a nice one.
    10) I’ve had jobs where I wore uniforms and jobs where I didn’t. I like being able to wear my own clothes, but then again, it was nice when I had to be at work at 5:30 am to not have to figure out what I was wearing.


Leave a Reply

