Adventures in Retail

So remember when I was a seasonal engraver in 2012? And how I had a blast? I went back for the 2013 Christmas season, and, conveniently enough, after I quit my other job, they needed someone to stay on after the holidays. Yay!

It’s so funny to think of shy little old me as a salesperson. It’s kind of like when I first started delivering pizzas. I used to be too shy to even order pizza on the phone. Look at me now! I haven’t made my sales goals every single day I worked, but I’ve made my weekly goals, so it evens out.

Of course, I still get to do engraving, which is the best part. I’ve engraved two marriage proposals in the past month. How cool is that?

It is a huge change from seasonal, though. There’s no shift overlap, so I’m almost always there by myself. Most of my time is spent dusting or twiddling my thumbs. The mall is nothing like it used to be.

It’s still fun, though. Almost my entire work history is food service and healthcare, so there are some glaring differences, like sales. A year of sales here is less than two months of pizza sales–and a day’s goal is less than an hour, most days.

And there’s wandering through the deserted mall when it’s time to go.

20140117-230642.jpg
It’s much nicer without all the people. And I’m home by 930!

4 Comments on “Adventures in Retail”

  1. April, I choose you! (Okay, that was a lame pokemon reference) But you have been nominated for the Liebster Award πŸ™‚ Head down to my latest blog post to find out more πŸ™‚

  2. Stasy says:

    I’m glad you’re enjoying your job. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

