Withdrawal from Winter

You know the feeling you get when you throw yourself into a series of books for weeks and months and that’s all you eat, breathe, and sleep and the characters are more a part of you than you are and then–it’s over?

That’s where I am right now.

Except it’s not over. I’m talking about A Song of Fire and Ice. George R. R. Martin. A Game of Thrones. Don’t worry, no spoilers ahead.

I haven’t felt this anticipation since I first read Stephen King’s The Waste Lands. The years of waiting for volume four; the frustration when Wizard and Glass took me back instead of forward. Then more waiting, waiting for the next installment.

But I won’t get started on The Dark Tower. That was a whole new level of disappointment.

I first tried to read A Game of Thrones about six or seven moths ago. I suffered through a few pages and decided that it just wasn’t for me. When I picked it up again in August and started over, I realized that it wasn’t the fault of the words, it was the fault of depression. I felt better, my attention span was there, and I got caught up in that world.

I stayed up late to read. I passed on movies to read. I couldn’t wait to get home and get to bed to read. When I was halfway through the first book, we started watching the show. I kept reading so I was always ahead, and I have to say, it’s a pretty darn good adaptation. I understood the changes that had to be made for television, and for the most part, I approved.

But the waiting! Again with the waiting! I can’t wait to see how the next season goes. I can’t wait for the next book to come out so I can find out what happens next! Oh, the agony!

So I wait. And I’ll probably start over again in February-ish, just as a refresher. And enjoy nearly as much as I did this time. Only nearly because, well, no surprises.

That’s the difference between A Song of Fire and Ice and The Dark Tower. There’s magic and monsters and mystery, but there’s a logic in Westeros that disappeared from Mid-World, leaving only a bad taste in my mouth. I read the last five Dark Tower novels once. One single time. I don’t even own the last four. Oops–I think I just started to get into my Dark Tower rant. That’s another post.

Do read. And don’t believe all the hype. Not everyone dies. My two favorite characters are still alive and kicking mightily. A little worse for the wear, maybe, but definitely kicking.

As the Starks say, winter is coming.

One Comment on “Withdrawal from Winter”

  1. anexpatinuk says:

    Yes, winter is coming! Really enjoying A Game of Thrones the TV-series. Haven’t read the books though.


Leave a Reply

