Sleep Study

Did I tell you about the ‘results’ from my sleep study? I don’t think so.

Well, my family practitioner originally sent the request in because of a lot of bad stuff. Night terrors, sleep paralysis, hallucinations, that kind of crap.

I saw the neurologist, told him the same story, and he agreed that I needed a sleep study.

I finally had it in August, and the neurologist left me a message a couple weeks later that I had some mild to moderate breathing difficulties; he didn’t mention that I laid awake for most of the night.

Today I got a call from the sleep lab and got all scheduled up for another sleep study with CPAP titration this Sunday.

Argh!! It’s not about my breathing! I can’t afford a CPAP machine anyway, so it doesn’t matter if he thinks I need one or not. Why is it not an issue that I can’t get to sleep in the first place?? But heaven forbid I’m able to go back to the neurologist without another sleep study.

Oh, and of course I have breathing difficulty. My adenoids are huge. I’m also on my third set, since they grew back after twice being removed. They’re stubborn little guys. I should just slap a breathing strip on my nose and tell him to titrate that.

3 Comments on “Sleep Study”

  1. Rain says:

    Actually, all of the things you listed are things my husband had BEFORE he got a sleep study and then fitted for CPAP. He’s been on CPAP for almost 6 years, and everything has disappeared…and did so a few weeks after he started using CPAP regularly. I’d do a little research before you brush off the diagnosis. Obstructive apnea is not something to mess with. And your insurance should cover a CPAP machine!

    Good luck.

    • April says:

      The issue is that I started having these problems after a traumatic event, and no one wants to address that. That’s why I’m unconcerned with the apnea. And I’m uninsured.

  2. Stasy says:

    I’m sorry you’re not getting answers to help with the not sleeping. 😦


Leave a Reply

