Keeping Warm and Cozy

Last night we got our first real taste of fall. It was in the 50s when I left work! This morning I got up with Ian instead of sleeping in, for once. It’s going to be even colder tomorrow morning when we pick up Abby, so I knew I needed to see the blanket I had planned for her.

Wednesday we went to Hancock and found out that they have fleece remnants for three dollars a yard, so I picked up a yard of pink and let Abby choose between strawberries or cupcakes and puppies. That night I measured out some cord to make piping, and that’s as far as I got.

This morning I cut bias strips from some pink gingham I had and spent half an hour pinning about eight feet of piping. I think that’s been the most pain in the ass step I’ve taken yet for a sewing project–but I know there will be worse when I make my first quilt.

20131006-151014.jpg
Second most pain in the ass was sewing all that piping, so I was sure glad when I got to the blanket itself! I sandwiched everything up, pinned, sewed, turned, sewed, and admired.

20131006-151345.jpg
That cold-natured little girl is gonna be so happy in the morning!

2 Comments on “Keeping Warm and Cozy”

  1. alie says:

    Pretty! I love the strawberry print 🙂


Leave a Reply

