Project Dreamcatcher: Week One

I’m participating in jjiraffe’s Project: Dreamcatcher. Week One’s assignment is: Define your goal. Write a post announcing your goal. And watch this video.

I want to feel better about myself. I am constantly beating myself up about things that are either beyond my control or absolutely not worth it. I would really like to be able to treat myself like I treat anyone else. I would love to know that I’m not this terrible, horrible, no good, very bad person that I think I am.

So I watched the video. It seems to me a good omen that one of the things Matt Cutts talks about is NaNoWriMo, because I did that. I finished. That is something to be proud of.

Here’s the first thing I’m going to do. I’m going to take a picture every day in June of something that makes me feel good. I can do that, right? I’ll share them here every ten days with explanations of why they make me feel good. By July I’ll have three lists of ten awesome things to go back and look at whenever I need to.

Am I getting ahead of myself with this? Probably. That’s me, trying to overachieve, as always. But if that’s how it’s gonna be, that’s how it’s gonna be. I’m not going to beat myself up over not following jjiraffe’s instructions to the letter. I’m going to follow the spirit, and acknowledge that doing something is still doing something. It counts. It’s okay. This is meant to help achieve dreams, not bring me down. I’ll know I’m doing something wrong if I twist it into self-deprecation. And I know someone will call me out on that.

11 Comments on “Project Dreamcatcher: Week One”

  1. tigger62077 says:

    I’m glad you’re back to writing. AND taking photos. You take some of the most awesome photos. I am jealous. JEALOUS, I say. I’m pretty sure no one will slam you for following the spirit, that’s what things are meant for. I love that you’re going to take pics and post them for us. I can’t wait to see what makes you feel good!

  2. jjiraffe says:

    You definitely don’t have to follow the guidelines to the letter 🙂 They are meant to be guidelines only. It is beyond amazing that you finished your novel and published it. You should be so proud of that!! I think your project sounds fantastic and I can’t wait to watch it progress.

  3. […] R. Sativus: Feel Better About Myself 2. Cheryl That’s Me: Improve Study Habits 3. Adventures in Writing, Reading and BookCrossing: […]

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Whoa, you wrote a novel???! Rock on!
    Looking forward to seeing your photos!

  5. anexpatinuk says:

    This is a great goal. And well done for completing the novel and getting it published. Looking forward to the photos, I like the idea of documenting something each day that makes you feel good. It gives you reason to look for it and I hope you discover more of that along the way.

  6. Kathy says:

    Way to go! Though I am not formally participating in Project Dreamcatcher, as I feel it isn’t that much different than my weekly Shed Series on my blog (helping me to be accountable for my new years resolutions throughout the year). I do think it is a wonderful idea and am proud of you for doing it or at least a version of it. If there was one thing I wanted to focus on this summer, I might do it, but there is just too much going on at this point. I do look forward to following along though and I know I can always jump in, at any point, if I want to. 🙂

    • April says:

      Kathy, I so admire your Shed Series, and the stick-to-it-iveness that you’ve shown us with it. I fell along the wayside months ago, but I also know that, for me, focusing on one goal instead of the list I had will be much more likely to lead to success.


Leave a Reply

