Perfect Monday

It hasn’t just been a moment; it’s been a day.

We got Abby yesterday due to some difficulties Mama’s having, so we actually got to sleep in! I did wake up with a horrible headache, but a pill and thirty more minutes in bed, and I was good to go.

Ian cooked eggs in a basket and bacon with my new cast iron bacon press (sixth anniversary is iron). Yum!

We all got dressed and went to pick up a new pool! And a few other things, but the pool’s what’s important. Well, the air pump was pretty important too, since our vacuum doesn’t reverse.

It’s only 8’x5′, but that is plenty big enough for the three of us to cool off. We left it filling while Abby napped, and I had to give it a test run before she woke up.

One afternoon is not enough to warm up 200 gallons of ice cold water. But we toughed it out. Mostly me. Abby gasped every time she splashed, and Ian only spent a few minutes sitting down.

I was fine. No hives!

We called it a day and took warm showers.

Ian cooked ribs and artichokes with hollandaise. My husband makes amazing hollandaise!

And now, Abby’s in bed, not sleeping–I hear her thumping around in there. But she’s quiet.

So I’m enjoying a glass of Rosa Regale and watching a movie with my sweet husband. I love you, Ian! Happy anniversary!

20130429-223733.jpg

Check out Lori’s and other Perfect Moments here!

14 Comments on “Perfect Monday”

  1. Happy belated anniversary! ! πŸ™‚

  2. Kathy says:

    Happy Anniversary to you and Ian! What a perfect way to celebrate! Thank you for sharing! I just ate breakfast, but your post is making me hungry, with all the food your described! πŸ˜‰

  3. Fiona says:

    Aww that does sound just perfect!! πŸ™‚ Happy Anniversary to you and your husband!

  4. Kate says:

    Late Happy Anniversary!! Sounds like you had a lovely day! πŸ™‚

  5. Like you, I’m a big fan of hollandaise.

    Happy happy anniversary to you two! Hard to imagine you in a swimming pool, a we are having aNOTHER winter storm move in.

    …and many morrrrre…..

  6. Liz says:

    Hooray for pools and perfect days with your family! I so relate to toughing it out in the cold water. I have such great memories of the kiddie pool I grew up with (one of those vinyl things that you unroll and then fill with water). I’m the oldest of three sisters, so I was always the alligator/dragon/sea monster who gobbled their toes. πŸ™‚ Happy anniversary!

  7. What a great post πŸ˜‰ I love hollandaise as well — but have never been able to make it myself.


Leave a Reply

