U is for Urticaria

About two years ago, I developed cholinergic urticaria. It sucks to live in the south and be allergic to heat. Especially when it’s one of those things I just have to deal with.

This week has been pretty good so far. I delivered my papers and didn’t have any hives when I got home. Now that it’s warming up again, Ian and Abby have been excited to spray me with the hose when I get home, but I disappointed them yesterday.

Maybe it means I’m getting better for now. It is supposedly something that comes and goes.

U was a hard one to come up with something!

21 Comments on “U is for Urticaria”

  1. SM says:

    I’ve never heard of being allergic to heat! My mom used to tell me about heat rashes but I thought she was just screwing with me.

    • April says:

      It’s more that I’m allergic to my own heat. When my body temperature rises just a little bit I hive up. But oh yes, heat rashes are definitely real as well. Poor Abby used to get them sometimes when she was a baby.

  2. I learned something new! I’ve had “heat rashes” but they were more friction/sweat rashes than anything else. I’m sorry it’s something more than that you are forced to deal with.

  3. marwil says:

    Oh how unfortunate when you live in the south. Not cool, I hope it won’t be to rough on you during this summer.

  4. Ahhhh…..heat rashes. Never fun. 😦

  5. OMG! I had dematographic urticartia for YEARS, like over ten. I would break out in hives anytime anything, including myself, would touch my skin. It resolved when I went on my crazy anti inflammatory diet. Not having it anymore was so dramatic I had them allergy test me when they went away. I still have no idea what exactly made them go away — but I am so glad they did. I hope yours resolve soon 🙂

    • April says:

      Oh, that sucks!! I”m glad yours are gone now. Hives just gross me out, but it’s the itching that really makes me crazy. Maybe I should have another look at your diet…

      I hope your daughter’s visit to the allergist went well!

  6. 최다해 gongjumonica says:

    It’s my first time to hear this form of allergy. I guess you cannot visit my country, the Philippines. It is perpetually summer here!


Leave a Reply

