H is for Home Cookin’

H has stood for so many things between yesterday and today, but oh my, I have to use it for this.

We’ve had this broccoli in the fridge, see, and now buttermilk left over from my mom’s lemon custard pie, so I went to google. Whaddaya know, broccoli and buttermilk!

Sounds disgusting, right? I mean, the title is (An Affront to) Good Taste: Long-Cooked Broccoli with Buttermilk. But it’s not. It’s so, so yummy by itself and over spaghetti. Abby’s on her third helping, even after the raw broccoli florets and cold roast chicken she had for dinner earlier.

20130409-205134.jpg
However, pretty it is not.

While I was waiting for the broccoli to cook into nothingness, I fell down the rabbit hole of recipe links. And found this least popular recipe ever, which is even less photogenic. But I haven’t had anchovies in years, and now my tummy is screaming for them.

They’d be fabulous in this broccoli.

To think I’d originally planned barbecue chicken sandwiches, which are currently hot in the crockpot waiting for Ian to get home from work.

I blame SRB for getting me craving pasta.

6 Comments on “H is for Home Cookin’”

  1. Very cool indeed! 🙂 Photogenic…absolutely not!! I tend to avoid foods that aren’t visually appealing to me, regardless of how they taste. lol

    • April says:

      I can’t stand the color of overcooked broccoli, but even if I hadn’t liked it, it was worth making just to watch Abby stuff her face. At least she doesn’t care about aesthetics!

  2. jjiraffe says:

    Oooh: one of my favorite recipes for green breans (roasted with tomatoes) has anchovies in it (fillets not paste) and it’s fantastic.

    I bet that broccoli dish was delicious.

  3. marwil says:

    Huh, weird combination but glad you tried it since it was clearly a winner 🙂


Leave a Reply

