Wiener Dog Races

20120903-134759.jpg

I have lived in this area for twenty of the past 23 years, and less than a mile from the racetrack for the past seven, but I’ve never been to the Weiner Dog Races. Until today!

20120903-135009.jpg

We picked Abby up this morning, stopped to grab Ian’s brother, and all went to Louisiana Downs for some fun. First ‘pawst’ wasn’t until 950, so Abby moshed around in the bounce house for a bit, petted some dogs, and checked out the arcade. We even got to see a miniature horse, who received exactly one pet from Abby. She seems to like the idea of horses much better than the real thing.

After wandering around a bit and ending up in a hall being set up for a wedding, we found our way back outside. We watched the first race, then got a snack.

20120903-135935.jpg

We cheered the kids’ races and the third dog race and called it a day. It’s starting to heat up again after a couple weeks of bearable weather, so the trip back through the air conditioned building was heavenly. Looks like we have a new family tradition!

6 Comments on “Wiener Dog Races”

  1. jjiraffe says:

    I have always wanted to see that!!! I saw last year’s race on TV, courtesy of ESPN Sportscenter. I am really jealous 🙂

  2. Belle says:

    !!!! I have wanted to go to this for ages, too! Send me a reminder a few weeks in advance next year and I might just hop in the Taurus and haul myself south for a weekend! Sounds like you guys had a lot of fun. Did you follow it up with hotdogs for supper?

  3. Oh my gosh that is adorable! I’ve seen piglet races, but not wiener dog races!


Leave a Reply

