Jack O’Lantern Time!

I think that last year I set the bar pretty high for myself.

20111027-220008.jpgWe love us some Super Mario.

This year, I’d planned on a cat, because they’re Halloweeny, we have cats, and it just sounded like a good idea. After checking out some ideas, we decided on this bat-winged little guy.

20111027-220448.jpg

20111027-220512.jpg

Unfortunately, as I was working on the second cutout, we had a fatality.

20111027-220746.jpg

I had to finish with a steak knife. I imagine it would have been tons easier with one of my mom’s super awesome slice-your-hand-off-if-you-look-away steak knives, but hey, what else could I do? My kitchen isn’t exactly overflowing with pumpkin-carving paraphernalia.

And so, tomorrow will bring my absolute favorite part of Halloween…roasted pumpkin seeds. They are the best snack ever. Or maybe a meal, if you have enough. Plus I have a bit of pumpkin to cook up and throw in some oatmeal or cookies or something. I’m looking forward to that, too.

Did you carve a jack o’lantern? What’s your favorite fall snack?


11 Comments on “Jack O’Lantern Time!”

  1. teri says:

    We do the roasted pumpkin seeds too — they are delicious. I’ll probably have to skip them this year on the account of having to get 2 root canals ON Halloween.

    Your pumpkins are adorbs!!!

  2. I am so lazy about carving pumpkins that we didn’t even buy any this year. Last yeah I left them out on the porch too long and a squirrel ate them (no, seriously). I guess we’ll have to start doing stuff like that in a couple years, but I don’t do pumpkin guts. That’s all on the hudband. Your pumpkins are seriously badass, though!

    • aprilvak says:

      We have a pecan tree, so squirrels don’t care about pumpkins. We had to do this one after bedtime due to ‘if I can’t do it myself I’m screaming!’ Maybe next year. Thanks!!

  3. Belle says:

    Love it! And pumpkin seeds are sooooo yummy! I use them to make pesto in place of nuts sometimes, too.

  4. Emily says:

    No pumpkins this year which I am totally bummed about. We got too busy. I didn’t even decorate! I love Halloween, unfortunately I’m not feeling it this year.


Leave a comment