One of Us

Tonight was a decent night at work. I had an amazing customer. When I asked her what occasion she was shopping for, she told me that a friend of hers had just had a miscarriage and that she was looking for something with angel wings.

I showed her a heart shaped necklace with a pair of wings over a heart, but when I read her what the insert said about love (because she forgot her glasses) she shook her head and asked what else we had.

I knew exactly what I wanted to show her, but it took me a minute to find it since we have to rearrange everything once a month.

It was this necklace with three charms, one blank oval for engraving, one oval with a stylized angel, and one wing. When she saw it, she knew that was what she wanted for her friend.

She didn’t get it engraved; she planned to give it to her friend blank and bring it back herself if her friend wanted something on it.

As I rang her up, I told her I was very sorry for her friend’s loss, and that I was glad she had such a kind and understanding friend. She thanked me, then looked at me, a little worriedly, and asked if I thought she was doing a good thing.

Definitely.

I knew she was one of us. And I grieved with her, and for her.

4 Comments on “One of Us”

  1. carolina647 says:

    What a touching story. I would never wish any of this infertility stuff on anyone but it is nice to know we are not alone.

  2. Rory says:

    Oh, absolutely.

  3. anexpatinuk says:

    How lovely, she’s a great friend for doing that! Glad you got to help her finding the right necklace to buy.

  4. tigger62077 says:

    It’s a hard group to belong to. I’m glad you were there to understand and to help her choose the right thing for her friend.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers