The Adoption Blogger Interview Project

A few weeks ago, you may have noticed the new button on my sidebar. I signed up for the Adoption Blogger Interview Project and joined over 100 other participants. We were randomly paired off, and I was introduced to Jenny at Blessings & RaindropsJenny’s blog is such a feast for the eyes, packed with beautiful photos of her family, friends, and endeavors. 

Here are the questions I asked, that she so kindly answered.

What has been the most special moment for you personally, since you signed up with AGCI?

Without a doubt, I have been overwhelmingly blessed by the community of AGCI adoptive mommas. I have made lifelong friends with some of these incredible women. There is this incredible sense of comfort and safety and sharing and acceptance within the group. We have a facebook group and a yahoo group where we connect. We also keep up with one another through blogging. We are able to encourage, uplift, and pray for one another and it is really a beautiful display of what I believe The Church should look like for all of us. I haven’t met all of these women in person but I can feel their prayers and know that they will lift our family up many, many times over the course of this journey.  I realize that isn’t one specific moment but it has been the most special and unexpected blessing I’ve received by signing up with our agency.

When and how did you first talk to your twins about your family’s plans for adoption? Do you think they have much understanding of it?

The boys are still really young {two and a half} so we try to incorporate our adoption plans into conversations all the time in order for them to feel like they are a part of this journey. I don’t know how much they really understand or comprehend but I truly don’t think it would be any different if I were pregnant. The concept of a “baby in momma’s belly” is likely just as foreign to them as a “baby in Ethiopia.”

They do talk about their “baby sister or brother in Ah-rica” {that’s a tough one to pronounce… we haven’t even try for Ethiopia yet!}all the time. And, it melts my heart every, single time. Just this morning, as we were brushing our teeth, Nathan said I needed to go get our baby in “Ah-rica” and I just scooped him up and squeezed him tight. I had to work hard to prevent the tears from flowing in that moment.

We also always talk to the boys about their sister or brother in Africa when we are working on items for our Etsy site. We use the site as a fundraiser for our adoption so we’ll tell them we are painting to raise money to bring our baby home. They love to be involved in the process and I absolutely cherish the moments we spend together as a family painting or building. It feels like a tangible way to do something while we wait.

Do you have any specific plans for exploring their roots with your future child(ren)?

We have an amazing community of families here locally that have adopted {or are in the waiting phase like us} from Ethiopia. We think it’s so important to surround our child with aspects of their culture and love that we have this community to enable us to do so. I’m also going to try really hard to learn to cook Ethiopian dishes {key word here is try}. I have a friend who is there now picking up her boys {yay!} and she just bought spices in the market to use at home. I love that idea. We’ll also buy gifts for our child while we are in Ethiopia. We’ll give him/her a small Ethiopian gift at birthdays each year and we’ll also have something for their wedding day. There are several traditional items that we’re learning about from other families that we will be sure to find and bring home with us. Undoubtedly, we’ll also go back as a family to visit at some point.

Do you have any special quote, prayer, or ritual that keeps you going day to day while you’re in this waiting phase?

Oh, there are so many verses that have spoken to me profoundly during this time. God has used His word to encourage me throughout this journey. I would say the verse that has stood out the most would be 1 Peter 1-6. I read this verse after a particularly hard morning during our “paper chase” and felt God clearly speaking to my heart. Later that same morning, while listening to Beth Moore speak at a conference I was attending, she read that exact same verse. I still get chills thinking about that moment.

It is now written on a chalkboard right by my door so that I see it every single day.

There is wonderful joy ahead, even though it is necessary for you to endure many trials for a while.” 1 Peter 1-6 {emphasis mine}

What could have been the best possible advice for someone to have given you a year ago, when you were just starting this process?

This will be a long road. The paperwork will be grueling and invasive and frustrating. And, just when you feel a sense of accomplishment and joy and relief to be done with the paperwork; you will begin the really challenging phase: waiting. The waiting phase will cause you to doubt and fear and ache. Your heart will long for this child that you do not yet know. God will hold you during this time. Your spiritual journey will be strong and real and true. Prepare yourself for a long road and pray for God to move mountains. Pray constantly and without ceasing.

What family tradition are you most looking forward to sharing with your future child(ren)?

Oh wow. That is such a tough question! I’m looking forward to all of it. The big “traditions” and the little, everyday moments. I’m looking forward to our annual family beach trip and I’m looking forward to walks to the park. I’m looking forward to having our family all HOME under one roof.

What did you expect when you signed up for this project, and has it been anything like your expectations?

I had expected to meet new friends in the adoption community. I had expected to learn more about other’s paths to this beautiful, redemptive, hard road of adoption. This project has been even more. It’s opened my eyes to the fact that we are all walking along our own broken paths and, ultimately, we all seek the same things: joy, hope and happiness. I’m grateful to be a small part of this project and to have met you! J

Jenny’s interview of me is posted on her site, and you can check out a list of the other participants’ interviews here. I had a great time participating in this project, and I’m already looking forward to next year!

9 Comments on “The Adoption Blogger Interview Project”

  1. Jenny Marrs says:

    Thank you, April! I loved this project and am honored to have had you interview me! It was so fun getting to know you :-)!

  2. Thanks for posting this interview. I like Jenny’s ideas of buying gifts (and maybe spices!) in Ethiopia, and I am especially glad that there are going to be other kids from Ethiopia in her community. Praying for all the best!

  3. jjiraffe says:

    Wow: interesting interview!! What a great project…I’m so glad you participated :)

  4. I found that to be true, as well. That the doing, while grueling, was easier than the waiting.

    May your story continue to unfold most beautifully, Jenny!

    Thanks for this interview, April.

  5. […] had such a great time with Jenny last year, that this year I signed up again for the Adoption Blogger Interview […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers